Switch to desktop

Steel City Stampede Flashback – John Garvin Jr. finally cashes in!


Steel City Stampede Flashback – John Garvin Jr. finally cashes in!

Sarver, PA (October 17, 2012) John Garvin Jr. owns and operates, along with his father John Garvin Sr., a salvage yard literally in the shadows of Lernerville Speedway.  Any Tom, Dick or Harry can drop off and cash in on a load of scrap, but Garvin himself has not been able to cash in at Lernerville Speedway; that it is until last October at the Third Annual DIRTcar Round Up Steel City Stampede! 


Prior to the Steel City Stampede, Garvin had collected four top fives in 2011 and had a few cracks at his first Precise Late Model feature win, but hadn’t sealed the deal.  Maybe all Garvin needed was for the lights to be off.  Racing features in the daylight of the Sunday afternoon rain date for the second time in three years, Garvin held off fellow junkyard dog and Sarver native Michael Norris to cash in on a $3,000 payday and fulfill a lifelong dream of standing in Sheetz Victory Lane.  Norris battled Garvin for most of the race, but late race contact Garrett Krummert allowed Garvin to cruise to the popular win.  Norris and Krummert chased Garvin to the checkered flag, followed by Chad Valone and Jared Miley.


After a wild ride on the first lap of Saturday Night’s heat race, Dale Blaney backed up his 2010 Stampede win over Danny Holtgraver with another $3,000 win in the 2011 Stampede.  Recently crowned Ti22 Sprint Track Champion Carl Bowser raced home second ahead of Ed Lynch Jr., Danny Holtgraver and Brandon Matus.


The BRP Tour/Diehl Mods feature was another barnburner!  In the first two years of Stampede competition, the Mods feature came down to three-car battles for the win with Del Rougeux Jr. holding off Jeremiah Shingledecker and Alan Johnson in the Inaugural Stampede and Chad Homan taking Rex King Sr. to the wall to score the win after battling Brian Weaver for most of the race. 


Last year’s Stampede feature was a four-car battle with yet another New York invader battling BRP’s finest.  Chad Brachmann is no stranger to Lernerville Speedway; running the late March/early April races on a semi-regular basis the past few years.  Nor is he a stranger to Sheetz Victory Lane; winning the Diehl Mods feature on Opening Night 2007.  But All Time division wins leader Brian Swartzlander and his rival Kevin Bolland are always tough to beat, as is then Defending BRP Champion Rex King Sr.  Surprisingly, the difference on this given Sunday afternoon was the powerplant of Brachmann; a small-block!  Given the track conditions during the afternoon, it shouldn’t be surprising that Brachmann had a huge advantage through the turns and enough horsepower on the straightaways to hold off the triumvirate of BRP/Diehl Mods stars to pick up the $3,000 payday and Stampede belt buckle.  Swartzlander chased Brachmann to the checkers for second, but Bolland was penalized for jumping a restart and then caught the inside berm to spin out of contention, while King broke.  King did, however, secure his fifth BRP Championship.  Dave Murdick finished the race in third ahead of Rex King Jr. and Kevin Hoffman.


A threat to take the checkers anytime he rolls onto the Action Track, regardless of which stock car he straps into, Chris Schneider scored another big win in the Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar Sportsman/Stocks over Corey McPherson and 2010 Stampede feature winner Joe Kelley.  McPherson followed up his runner-up finish at the 2011 Stampede with his first Pic-A-Part Sportsman/Stock Track Championship in 2012.  Inaugural Stampede feature winner Rusty Martz finished fourth ahead of Jeff Buccella.


Butch Lambert learned the power of Facebook last year as his fans demanded his participation in the Steel City Stampede and he paid them back with his first Pro Late Model win at the Speedway where he was a dominant force several years ago in the Sportsman/Stock division; winning 22 features in the “Pure Stock” era of his career.    Lambert held off young guns Colton Flinner and Kyle Zimmerman.  Dan Karalagas and Joe Martin rounded out the top five.


After charging from the tail of the field to a thrilling second place finish the previous year at the Stampede, then Two-Time Defending Late Model Track Champion Dave Hess Jr. sealed the deal in the UMP/UEMS Modifieds feature ahead of defending event winner Brian Ruhlman and Inaugural winner Randy Hall.


Other feature and belt buckle winners last year included Adam Pletcher in the 4-Cylinders, Jeff Teeters in the STARS Mod Lites and Chris Potochnak in the Enduro 100.  This year’s DIRTcar Round Up Steel City Stampede will also include the 305 Sprints!


After three weeks of flashbacks, we’ll get back to green flag racing next Thursday with rotating hot laps for all divisisons to kick off the Fourth Annual DIRTcar Round Up Steel City Stampede.  Scheduled for Thursday-Friday-Saturday, October 25-26-27, the Stampede will include heat races for all divisions on Friday Night and then any necessary B-Mains and features on Saturday Night.  Since its inception, the Stampede has expanded to 10 divisions and the FASTRAK Northeast Late Models and UEMS Modifieds have joined the BRP Modifieds as co-sanctioning bodies for the event!  For more details about the Fourth Annual DIRTcar Round Up Steel City Stampede, log on to www.Lernerville.com!


Contact: Lernerville Speedway                 

Eric J. Westendorf, Public Relations Director

(724) 664-1075 / This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.">This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


© 2012 World Racing Group - Interactive

Top Desktop version