Switch to desktop

Nostalgia Night/$1,700-to-win Dave Hoffman Memorial Take Two

Nostalgia Night/$1,700-to-win Dave Hoffman Memorial Take Two

Sarver, PA (August 14, 2013) After being postponed last Friday Night, the Lernerville Speedway will pay homage to its rich 40+ history this Friday, August 16 on Nostalgia Night coordinated by Don Gamble and hosted by the Pittsburgh Circle Track Club.  The annual gathering of the former stars and cars of the Action Track is always a popular event and will carry extra significance this year as the Hoffman family will be on hand to remember their father’s 299 career feature wins.  In addition to a memorial display of Dave and his long list of accomplishments, Dave’s son Bobby will be behind the wheel of Alex Ferree’s #10 car to take a victory lap that will serve as his father’s 300th career win.  Dave’s daughter Saundi will be in the flagstand to give Bobby the green and then commemorative 300-win checkered flag she made for her father as he neared the milestone that he never was able to achieve.  Dave’s wife Mary will also be on hand to award the feature winner an extra $300 to make the Dave Hoffman Memorial a $1,700-to-win race.

The following retired drivers attended last year’s Nostalgia Night; Bob Axe, Dick Bailey, Ray Baselj, Banker Beach, Carl Bittner, Paul Brougher, Harley Chuba, Bud Daum, Howie Goss, Gene Habbyshaw, Doc Harmon, Kenny & Kevin Harris, Dick Hecker, Harry Hein, Gary & Jeff Henry, Dave Hoffman, Bob Lucci, Jim Magill, Jerry Matus, Dave Meloy, Jerry McDowell, Ron McIntyre, Dave McMillan, Dave Mohn, Carl Murdick, Barry Peters, Ron Piovesan, Bob Puz, Dave Rupp, Deek Scott, Smokey Schempp, Dick Schwartzlander, Jack Sodeman, Randy Stivason, Dick Swartzlander, Jim & Tom Valasek, Larry Walters, Blackie Watt, Bill Wheeling

There will also be approximately two dozen vintage race cars on display, including the Western PA Vintage Modifieds that are also scheduled to compete in an exhibition race between the heats and features; time and weather permitting.  The following cars were on display/exhibition racing last year; The following cars were on display: Paul Bacchus (#7A Deek Scott Modified), Al Byerly (#47 1939 Coupe), Lynn Geisler (# 3 PRA Ford Coupe), Howie Goss (1957 Chevy Late Model), Jim Kurpakus (#4 Coupe), Gary Mariani (#11 1937 Chevy Coupe), Dale McCandless (#1 Modified), Jim McDermott (#5 Big Block Modified), Jerry McDowell (#22 Sprint), Jim & Bob McMillin (#5 Sprint Car), Junior Radvansky (Midget Race Car), Darwin Stivenson (#0 Old Chevy Coupe), Don Tarr (#28 Six Cylinder Modified), and Mark Weigle (#68 Chevy Coupe).

The MRO Injured Drivers Charity Benefit Auction, also originally scheduled for last Friday Night has been rescheduled for next Friday, August 23.  More details will follow next week, but drivers are invited to donate memorabilia, t-shirts and anything that might be coveted by race fans willing to donate money to this noble cause hosted by Jackie Matus and her team and sponsored by our “Racers Pastor” Bill Beck.

All of the Fab Four Racing divisions have different situations in the Budweiser Point Standings with now just three races remaining in the chase to the 2013 Track Championships.  In the Peoples TWP Sprints, it’s a four car race between Budweiser Points leader Brandon Spithaler, Eric Williams, Brandon Matus and last week’s feature winner Carl Bowser; all separated by just 21 points!  In the Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Models it’s a three horse race between Alex Ferree, John Garvin Jr. and Jared Miley with just 20 points between first and third.  Mat Williamson is running away with the Diehl Auto Group DIRTcar Northeast Modifieds points lead of more than an entire night’s worth of points over last week’s feature winner Brian Swartzlander.  Finally, the Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar Sportsman title hunt is a battle between the division’s young guns in Budweiser Points leader AJ Flick and Defending Track Champion Corey McPherson.  Flick holds a 10-point lead, but McPherson already has six feature wins to his credit.

Nostalgia Night will be a complete Fab Four Racing show with the Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Models competing in the $1,700-to-win Dave Hoffman Memorial, the Peoples TWP DIRTcar Sprints, Diehl Auto Group DIRTcar Northeast Modifieds and Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar Sportsman all in action and chasing the 2013 Budweiser Track Championships.  As always, gates open at 5:00 and heat racing will begin at 7:30 sharp.  Fab Four Pricing will be in place at $14 for adults, $10 for seniors, $7 for students and kids 10 & under are admitted FREE!  This Friday is also Scout Night and all scouts and masters will be admitted FREE of charge in uniform.

As mentioned above, the MRO Injured Drivers Benefit Auction is now scheduled for next Friday, August 23, which is also Senior Citizens Night.  All Senior Citizens will be admitted for half-price ($7) instead of the standard $10 Senior discount.

Contact: Lernerville Speedway                      

Eric J. Westendorf, Public Relations Director

(724) 664-1075 / This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Photos Courtesy of John Stivason/Stivason Photos

© 2012 World Racing Group - Interactive

Top Desktop version