Switch to desktop

Horsepower Aplenty at Steel City Stampede 10.24

Horsepower Aplenty at Steel City Stampede

Lynch, George, Lux, Flinner, Swartzlander and Kelley Among Heat Race Winners


Sarver, PA (October 24, 2009) 173 cars of all shapes and sizes applied varying amounts of horsepower to the 4/10 mile speedplant in Sarver, PA as the Inaugural DIRTcar Round Up Steel City Stampede kicked off with heat races Friday Night.


From the high pitched 4 Cylinders and Mod Lites, to the ground pounding thunder of the Big Block Modifieds, Super Lates and 410 Sprints, the Steel City Stampede has racing action for fans of all types and divisions of dirt track racing.


4 Cylinder heat races were claimed by John Ford and Chris Hickok, while Alan Knepper, Shane Pfeuffer and Michael Hay saw the checkered flag fly in Mod Lite heat race action.


The DIRTcar Sportstman/Stock division had the biggest car count with 36 cars in action.  Rusty Martz, Dave “Brew” Baker, Joe Kelley and Mike Duritsky won their respective heat races.


The UMP Pro Late Models heat races were won by Rocky Kugel and Ricky Meglaye, while Rich Gardner, Randy Hall and Dave Hess Jr. won UMP Modified heat races.


The excitement piqued as the Diehl Auto Group DIRTcar Modifieds rolled onto the speedway.  This weekend’s Modified action is also BRP Mod Tour sanctioned, and as such, Kevin Bolland was suspended from the event.  BRP rules dictate that the driver, not the car is suspended, so the Bolland #777 was driven by Super DIRTcar Series Superstar Alan Johnson.  But the gremlins, or perhaps Karma, sent the #777 to the pits midrace for a disappointing DNF.  Brian Swartzlander and Brad Rapp drove away from the competition in their respective heat races to take the wins.


It should not be a surprise to fans of Fab Four Racing and/or the Firecracker 100 that the Friedman’s Freshmarkets DIRTcar Late Models provided the most exciting racing action of the night.  Matt Lux outdueled World of Outlaws Late Models Series Rookie of the Year frontrunner Russell King to win the first heat race.  Then the second heat provided high drama as Doug Eck and Dave Murdick made contact early in the race while battling for the lead, then John Flinner and Gregg Satterlee had door-to-door contact in turn two on a late race restart.  The contact sent Satterlee over the top of turn two and Flinner to the checkered flag.


The Commercial Truck & Trailer DIRTcar Sprints brought the curtains down with two fast and furious heat races in which 2009 Overall Wins Leader Ed Lynch Jr. and 2009 Budweiser Track Champion Rod George were victorious.


The action resumes tomorrow with B-Mains, Features and a 100-lap Enduro starting at 3:00PM.  Registration and pit gates open at 12:00Noon and the main gates open at 2:00PM. 


Fans of all ages are encouraged to wear their Halloween costumes to the track tomorrow and join the parade for a chance to win bikes (for kids) and meal certificates (for adults) provided courtesy of area restaurants. 


And don’t miss the fun and fellowship at the Champions Party at the Round Up Tent following the completion of the racing program. 

 DIRTcar Round Up Steel City Stampede Race Results

Commercial Truck & Trailer DIRTcar Sprint Heat #1 (10 Laps)
  1. (2L) Ed Lynch Jr.
  2. (8) Mike Lutz
  3. (D4) Danny Holtgraver
  4. (22) Cole Duncan
  5. (33) Brent Matus
  6. (4K) Bill Kiley
  7. (3J) Brandon Matus
  8. (43) Bryn Gohn – DNS

Commercial Truck & Trailer DIRTcar Sprint Heat #2
(10 Laps)
  1. (4) Rod George
  2. (3B) Scott Bonnell
  3. (94) Jack Sodeman Jr.
  4. (6) Bob Felmlee
  5. (56) Ralph Spithaler
  6. (49) Bob Howard
  7. (1R) Gale Ruth Sr.

Friedman’s Freshmarkets DIRTcar Late Models Heat #1
(10 Laps)
  1. (21) Matt Lux
  2. (56) Russell King
  3. (H1) Jared Miley
  4. (10) Gary Lyle
  5. (44) Dave Hess Jr.
  6. (29) Ken Schaltenbrand
  7. (4) DJ Cline
  8. (1) Wendell Pinckney
  9. (55) Chris Schneider

Friedman’s Freshmarkets DIRTcar Late Models Heat #2 (10 Laps)
  1. (48) John Flinner
  2. (03) Doug Eck
  3. (22) Gregg Satterlee
  4. (66) Todd Bachman
  5. (15K) Ray Kroll Sr.
  6. (SR1) Tom Shaffer
  7. (93) Bobby Marietta
  8. (1J) Dave Murdick

Diehl Auto Group DIRTcar/BRP Modified Heat #1
(10 Laps)
  1. (83) Brian Swartzlander
  2. (37MD) Jeremiah Shingledecker
  3. (20D) Del Rouguex Jr.
  4. (65) Rex King
  5. (32) Jim Rasey
  6. (25) Joe Crawford
  7. (6) Carl Murdick
  8. (27R) Dave Reges
  9. (B4) Ryan Hall
  10. (75) Jeff Miller
  11. (72) Mike Miller

Diehl Auto Group DIRTcar/BRP Modified Heat #2 (10 Laps)
  1. (11R) Brad Rapp
  2. (516) Gary Smoker
  3. (61) Dave Murdick
  4. (66) JR McGinley
  5. (03) Mark Frankhouser
  6. (96) Mike Turner
  7. (165) Rex King Jr.
  8. (19W) Richard Whitney
  9. (76) Ted Ryan
  10. (777) Alan Johnson

UMP Modifieds Heat Winners

(222) Rich Gardner, (10) Randy Hall, (44) Dave Hess Jr.

UMP Pro Late Models Heat Winners

(7KRT) Rocky Kugel, (5) Ricky Meglaye

DIRTcar Sportsman/Stocks Winners

(16M) Rusty Martz, (2) Dave “Brew” Baker, (66) Joe Kelley, (90) Mike Duritsky

Mod Lites Heat Winners

(10) Alan Knepper, (70x7) Shane Pfeuffer, (22) Michael Hay

4 Cylinders Heat Winners

(34) John Ford, (84) Chris Hickok

Car Count Total: 173

Commercial Truck & Trailer DIRTcar Sprints: 15

Friedman’s Freshmarkets DIRTcar Late Models: 17

Diehl Auto Group DIRTcar Modifieds: 21

Advanced Auto Parts Sportsman: 36

UMP Pro Late Models: 20

UMP Modifieds: 25

Mod Lites: 25

4 Cylinders: 14


Contact: Lernerville Speedway                       

Eric J. Westendorf, Public Relations Director                   

(724) 664-1075 · This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.m

© 2012 World Racing Group - Interactive

Top Desktop version